CCP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The CMMC Certified Professional exam is computer-based, so you book a seat rather than wait for a single national test day.
  • ISACA currently lists US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members; confirm both on the credential page before paying.
  • Scheduling may be available 48 hours after payment, so plan for a short gap between purchase and exam day.
  • Delivery is at authorized PSI test centers or by remote proctoring; choose based on your environment and risk tolerance.

Why the CCP Has No Fixed Exam Calendar

Searches for "CCP exam dates" usually assume a fixed calendar: a handful of national test days, registration deadlines, and a results release. The CMMC Certified Professional (CCP) does not work that way. It is a computer-based test (CBT) delivered through authorized PSI test centers or remote proctoring, which means the real question is not "when is the exam?" but "when can I get a seat, and when am I ready to sit it?"

That distinction matters for planning. With no cohort-wide date to anchor your study schedule, the discipline has to come from you. Many candidates drift because nothing forces a decision. The practical fix is to treat your scheduling window as the first commitment, not the last: pick a target week, work backward, and let the booking system confirm what is realistic.

Scope note: This article is about the CMMC Certified Professional credential administered through ISACA, which describes itself as an official CAICO. The current ISACA outline titles it "Certified CMMC Professional." It is a different credential from other certifications that happen to share the CCP acronym, so ignore any exam-date information you find tied to those.

If you are still orienting yourself on what the credential is, start with What Is CCP Certification? and then return here for the logistics.

How Scheduling Works Step by Step

The mechanics below reflect what ISACA's credential page currently describes. Because policies change, treat this as a map and confirm each step against the official source at isaca.org/credentialing/ccp.

  1. Read the candidate guide first. The credential page links to it. This is where duration, the pass threshold, prerequisites and renewal rules live. Do not rely on a blog, including this one, for those specifics.
  2. Review the exam content outline. ISACA publishes the outline with six weighted domains, 15 nested objectives, and a published question count of 170.
  3. Choose member or non-member pricing. The current page lists US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members.
  4. Pay for the exam. Scheduling may become available about 48 hours after payment, according to the current page.
  5. Select delivery mode and a slot. Pick an authorized PSI test center or remote proctoring, then choose an available date and time.
  6. Confirm your appointment details. Check identification requirements, arrival or check-in timing, and any technical requirements for remote delivery in your confirmation.

The 48-hour language is worth underlining. If you pay on a Friday expecting to book a Saturday seat, you may be disappointed. Build at least a few days of slack between payment and your earliest realistic exam date.

Test Center vs. Remote Proctoring

Both delivery paths are offered, and the choice affects how flexible your date can be. Test center seats depend on local availability; remote proctoring depends on your own setup. Neither is automatically easier.

FactorAuthorized PSI Test CenterRemote Proctoring
LocationTravel to a physical siteYour own room
Date flexibilityTied to local seat availabilityOften broader, subject to proctor availability
Environment controlManaged by the centerYou must meet room and equipment rules
Main riskLimited local slots, travel timeConnectivity or setup problems on exam day
Best forCandidates with a noisy or shared workspaceCandidates with a quiet, compliant private space

Remote candidates should run any system check offered before exam day and clear the workspace according to the rules in the candidate guide. A scheduling date is only useful if you can actually sit the exam on it.

Fees and Their Effect on Your Timeline

The fee and the date are linked because payment opens the scheduling window. The current ISACA page shows a US$575 member price and a US$760 non-member price. If you are weighing whether membership changes your total cost, the difference is a factor worth checking against the membership fee on the same site. Our CCP certification cost breakdown walks through the pricing components in more detail.

Timing tip: Do not pay for the exam until your study plan is credible. Payment starts the clock on your booking window and any rescheduling or expiration rules in the candidate guide. Pay when you are roughly four to six weeks from being ready, not when you first feel motivated.

Also confirm what the candidate guide says about rescheduling, cancellation and retake rules. Those policies determine how costly a missed date or a failed attempt is, and they are not something to guess at. For the related question of what counts as passing, see CCP Passing Score 2026; pass rate data is not publicly disclosed by ISACA, which is why our pass rate article focuses on what can and cannot be known.

What to Verify Before You Book

Several details that candidates commonly ask about are intentionally not stated here as fact, because they must be confirmed in the current candidate guide:

  • Exam duration and any check-in time added around it.
  • Pass threshold and how scoring is reported.
  • Prerequisites or eligibility conditions before you may register.
  • Validity period and renewal requirements after you pass.
  • Rescheduling, cancellation and retake policies.

Eligibility is the one most likely to derail a booking. Before paying, read CCP Requirements 2026 for the framework we use to think about it, then verify against the official guide.

Key Takeaway

Open the candidate guide from ISACA's credential page, copy the duration, pass threshold, eligibility and retake rules into your own notes with the date you read them, and re-check them the week before your exam. Rules can change between the day you plan and the day you test.

Framework Version vs. Outline Publication Date

Two different "dates" cause confusion, and keeping them apart will save you from studying the wrong material.

  • The CMMC framework version refers to the model and the program rules the exam is built around.
  • The outline publication date refers to when ISACA published the current exam content outline.

They are not the same thing, and one does not tell you the other. A recent outline does not guarantee a recent framework revision, and vice versa. When you evaluate a study resource, ask which outline it was built from. The official outline at isaca.org/credentialing/ccp/ccp-exam-content-outline is the reference point, and our CCP exam domains guide maps study topics to each weighted area.

Working Backward From Your Target Date

Because the exam is booked on demand, the useful way to use a date is as a deadline for your own preparation. The sequencing below is built around the published domain weights, not around generic habits. Domain 4 is the largest at 35%, and the CMMC Assessment Process (Domain 5) is next at 25%, so together they hold 60% of the exam.

Domain 4: CMMC Model Construct and Implementation Evaluation (35%)

The heaviest domain. You apply source documents to evaluate CMMC practices (at minimum Level 1 practices), use assessment criteria and methodology, and analyze evidence location, collection, quality and use.

  • Schedule this first and give it the most hours.
  • Practice judging whether evidence is adequate, not just naming practices.

Domain 5: CMMC Assessment Process (25%)

CCP roles across Phase 1 Plan and Prepare, Phase 2 Conduct, Phase 3 Report, and Phase 4 evaluation of outstanding POA&M items, including scenario-based Level 2 assessment phases and steps.

  • Learn what the CCP does in each phase, in order.
  • Expect scenario questions that ask what happens next.

Domains 3 and 6: Governance and Scoping (15% each)

Domain 3 covers FCI and CUI on nonfederal unclassified networks, roles and authority, and source and supplementary documents. Domain 6 covers high-level CAP scoping and analyzing the environment to scope FCI assets.

  • These two connect: scoping decisions depend on understanding what FCI and CUI are.
Weeks 1-2

Orientation and Governance

  • Read the outline and candidate guide.
  • Cover Domain 1 (Ecosystem, 5%) and Domain 3 (Governance and Source Documents, 15%).
Weeks 3-5

Model Construct and Evidence

  • Work Domain 4 in depth, with evidence analysis scenarios.
  • Fold in Domain 2 (Code of Professional Conduct, 5%) alongside.
Weeks 6-7

Process and Scoping

  • Work Domain 5 phase by phase.
  • Practice Domain 6 scoping decisions end to end.
Week 8

Timed Review

  • Take full practice sessions and revisit weak domains before sitting.

Eight weeks is an illustration, not an official recommendation. Candidates with assessment or compliance backgrounds may compress it; those new to the CMMC ecosystem may need longer. For detailed topic coverage, our CCP study guide expands each stage, and you can test yourself on the main practice test site. If you are unsure how long to allow, How Hard Is the CCP Exam? discusses the factors that affect preparation time.

Who Is Racing a Deadline

Most candidates do not face a hard deadline from ISACA. The pressure is usually external: a contract that requires certified assessors, a hiring window at a consultancy or assessment organization, or an internal goal to be ready as CMMC requirements reach more defense suppliers. If a specific employer or project is driving your date, work backward from their requirement and leave margin for a possible retake, since retake policies are set by the candidate guide.

If your motivation is career-related, CCP jobs, the CCP salary guide and the ROI analysis help you decide how aggressively to schedule. When you are ready to measure readiness against realistic questions, try the CCP practice tests. Remember that any practice items are independently written study material, not actual exam questions or an official mock exam.

A simple rule: Book the exam only after you have scored consistently well on practice work in Domains 4 and 5. They carry 60% of the weighting, so a weak showing there is a stronger signal than strength in the smaller domains.

FAQ

Are there specific CCP exam dates each year?

The exam is computer-based and delivered through authorized PSI test centers or remote proctoring, so it is booked by seat rather than tied to one national date. Available slots vary, so check the scheduling system after payment.

How soon after paying can I schedule?

ISACA's current page indicates scheduling may be available 48 hours after payment. Confirm this on the credential page, and leave extra buffer before any date you cannot move.

How much does the exam cost?

The current ISACA page lists US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members. Fees can change, so verify them on the official page before you pay.

Can I take the exam from home?

Remote proctoring is listed as a delivery option alongside authorized PSI test centers. Review the technical and environment requirements in the candidate guide before choosing it.

Where do I find the exam length and passing score?

Those details must be confirmed in the current candidate guide linked from isaca.org/credentialing/ccp. Our passing score article explains what is and is not publicly stated.

Ready to pass your CCP exam?

Put this into practice with free CCP questions across every exam domain.