- The Short Answer: What CCP Stands For
- Why the Name Appears Two Ways
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- What the Title Says About Your Role
- How the Letters Translate Into Exam Content
- Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
- Who Looks for This Credential
- Clearing Up Acronym Confusion
- Sequencing Your First Weeks by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- In this context, CCP means CMMC Certified Professional; ISACA's current outline titles it "Certified CMMC Professional."
- The outline publishes 170 questions across six weighted domains and 15 nested objectives.
- Domain 4 (Model Construct and Implementation Evaluation) is the largest at 35%, followed by the Assessment Process at 25%.
- Current fees are US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members, taken at PSI test centers or via remote proctoring.
The Short Answer: What CCP Stands For
On this site, CCP stands for CMMC Certified Professional. CMMC itself stands for Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, the Department of Defense (DoW) framework used to verify that contractors protect sensitive information in the defense supply chain. A CMMC Certified Professional is someone who has demonstrated foundational competence in how CMMC assessments are structured, scoped, and carried out.
The acronym "CCP" is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries, so searching it cold can send you to the wrong place. Everything in this article refers only to the CMMC credential. If you want a broader orientation, our explainers on what CCP is and the meaning of CCP cover the basics from slightly different angles, while this page focuses on the name itself and what is packed inside it.
Why the Name Appears Two Ways
You will see the credential written as both "CMMC Certified Professional" and "Certified CMMC Professional." The older and more widely repeated form is CMMC Certified Professional, which is how most training materials, job postings, and community discussions refer to it. ISACA's current exam content outline uses the wording "Certified CMMC Professional." Both refer to the same credential, and the abbreviation CCP is unchanged.
It is also worth separating two things people often blur together: the version of the CMMC framework itself, and the publication date of the exam outline. They are different documents on different timelines. The outline tells you what the exam covers; the framework and its source documents are what you actually study. Check the publication information on the official outline page rather than assuming the two move in lockstep.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The CCP exam is administered through ISACA, which describes its role as the official CAICO (CMMC Assessor and Instructor Certification Organization). That role matters because it is the organization authorized to certify the people who participate in CMMC assessments. The official resources to bookmark are the ISACA CCP credential page, which links to the candidate guide, and the official exam content outline.
One of the six domains also references the CMMC-AB Code of Professional Conduct, which tells you the ethical expectations attached to the credential are not an afterthought. They are tested content. For eligibility questions, see our breakdown of CCP requirements and how to qualify, and always confirm prerequisites against the current candidate guide because they should not be assumed.
What the Title Says About Your Role
"Certified"
The word signals that you passed a standardized, proctored exam rather than simply completing a course. The assessment is computer-based and administered under controlled conditions.
"Professional"
This is the level marker. A CCP is positioned as a practitioner who can take part in assessment activities, particularly the evaluation of practices and evidence, rather than as a lead or senior authority. The exam content reflects that: it asks you to apply source documents, evaluate practices, analyze evidence, and understand your role across the assessment phases.
"CMMC"
The scope is specific. You are not being tested on cybersecurity in general. You are being tested on the CMMC model, its governance, its source documents, and its assessment process. A strong general security background helps, but the exam rewards candidates who know the CMMC-specific vocabulary and procedures.
How the Letters Translate Into Exam Content
The outline organizes the credential into six weighted domains with 15 nested objectives. Here is how the name maps onto the actual content you will study. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see our complete guide to all six CCP content areas.
| Domain | Weight | What It Asks of You |
|---|---|---|
| 1. CMMC Ecosystem | 5% | Compare the roles, responsibilities, and requirements of the authorities in the ecosystem |
| 2. CMMC-AB Code of Professional Conduct (Ethics) | 5% | Apply conduct principles along with ISO/IEC and DoW requirements |
| 3. CMMC Governance and Source Documents | 15% | Understand FCI and CUI on nonfederal unclassified networks, determine roles and authority, and use source and supplementary documents |
| 4. CMMC Model Construct and Implementation Evaluation | 35% | Apply source documents to evaluate practices (at minimum Level 1), use assessment criteria and methodology, and analyze evidence |
| 5. CMMC Assessment Process (CAP) | 25% | Understand CCP roles across the assessment phases, including scenario-based Level 2 phases and steps |
| 6. Scoping | 15% | Perform high-level CAP scoping and analyze the environment to scope FCI assets |
Domain 4: The Heavyweight at 35%
More than a third of the exam sits here, so the "Professional" in your title is largely earned in this domain. You are expected to apply source documents to evaluate practices, use the assessment criteria and methodology correctly, and judge evidence.
- Evidence is analyzed on four dimensions: where it is located, how it is collected, its quality, and how it is used.
- The outline calls out evaluating practices at a minimum for Level 1, so know that tier thoroughly.
- Practice reading a requirement and deciding what a defensible piece of evidence would look like.
Domain 5: The Assessment Process
At 25%, this is the second-largest area. It follows the lifecycle of an assessment and where a CCP fits into each stage.
- Phase 1: Plan and Prepare
- Phase 2: Conduct
- Phase 3: Report
- Phase 4: Evaluation of outstanding POA&M items
- Scenario-based questions on Level 2 assessment phases and steps
Domains 4 and 5 together account for the majority of the exam, which is why the CCP is best understood as an assessment-practitioner credential. Domains 3 and 6 add the foundation (what FCI and CUI are, and which assets fall in scope), while Domains 1 and 2 are small but easy points if you learn the ecosystem and conduct material well.
Exam Format and Registration Mechanics
The outline publishes 170 questions. The exam is computer-based and can be taken at authorized PSI test centers or through remote proctoring. According to ISACA's current page, the fee is US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members, and scheduling may be available about 48 hours after payment. For a full cost picture, including what else you might budget for, read our CCP certification cost breakdown.
A few details are deliberately not stated here because they must come from the current candidate guide rather than from secondhand summaries: the exact exam duration, the passing threshold, any prerequisites, and the detailed validity and renewal rules. Our page on the CCP passing score explains how to find the current figure, and the scheduling guide covers testing windows. As for the CCP pass rate, it is not publicly disclosed, so be skeptical of anyone quoting a precise number.
Key Takeaway
Before you pay, download the candidate guide from the ISACA credential page and read it end to end. Confirm duration, passing threshold, prerequisites, and renewal rules there. Treat any third-party figure, including on blogs, as unverified until it matches the guide.
Who Looks for This Credential
Demand for the CCP comes from the organizations that sit on either side of a CMMC assessment. Understanding who they are helps you decide whether the credential fits your career direction.
- Assessment and consulting firms that support CMMC assessments and need people who understand the assessment process and evidence evaluation.
- Defense contractors and subcontractors that handle FCI or CUI and want in-house staff who understand what an assessor will look for.
- Managed service and compliance providers that support defense-industrial-base clients through readiness work.
- Security and GRC practitioners moving from other frameworks who want a recognized CMMC-specific credential.
For a view of how the market looks, see our pages on CCP jobs and CCP salary, and our analysis of whether the certification is worth it. We avoid quoting salary numbers here because compensation varies widely by region, employer type, and prior experience.
Clearing Up Acronym Confusion
Because "CCP" is shared across industries, here is a quick way to confirm you are on the right credential:
- The issuing body is ISACA, acting as the CMMC assessor and instructor certification organization.
- The exam outline lists the six domains above, including Scoping and the CMMC Assessment Process.
- The subject matter involves FCI, CUI, CMMC practices, and assessment phases.
- The material refers to the CMMC-AB Code of Professional Conduct.
If a page about "CCP" does not mention CMMC, FCI, or CUI, it is almost certainly describing something else. Likewise, the CCP is not the same as the CMMC Certified Assessor (CCA) credential. They are distinct, and you should not assume that CCA content or requirements apply to the CCP. Related explainers include what a CCP is as a role, what CCP means in practice, and what CCP certification involves. For the credential overview, see CCP certification.
Sequencing Your First Weeks by Domain
You do not need an elaborate method; you need to order the material sensibly. Because the domains build on one another, learn the vocabulary first, then spend the bulk of your time where the weight is. This is a starting outline you can adapt after reading the candidate guide.
Foundations: Domains 1, 2, and 3
- Learn the ecosystem authorities and what each is responsible for
- Read the Code of Professional Conduct material
- Get FCI versus CUI straight and learn which documents are source versus supplementary
Scoping: Domain 6
- Practice identifying FCI assets and scoping the environment at a high level
- Do this before evaluation work, since scope determines what gets assessed
Evaluation: Domain 4
- Work through practices and assessment criteria, starting with Level 1
- Drill evidence location, collection, quality, and use
Process: Domain 5
- Walk through all four phases and your role in each
- Work scenario-based Level 2 steps, including POA&M evaluation
Integration
- Take practice questions across all domains and revisit weak areas
This order puts the two heavy domains in the middle of your calendar with enough runway before and after. For a fuller plan, see our CCP study guide, the one-page CCP cheat sheet for last-minute review, and our overview of CCP training options. To gauge your readiness, our difficulty guide explains what tends to trip candidates up, and you can test yourself with the CCP practice tests. Our practice questions are independently written for exam preparation; they are not actual exam questions or an official mock exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
In the context of this site, CCP stands for CMMC Certified Professional. ISACA's current exam outline titles it "Certified CMMC Professional." Both names refer to the same credential, which relates to the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification program for defense contractors.
No. They are separate CMMC credentials with their own requirements and content. Do not assume that details for one apply to the other. Use the official ISACA pages and candidate guide to confirm requirements for the CCP specifically.
Domain 4, CMMC Model Construct and Implementation Evaluation, is the largest at 35%. The CMMC Assessment Process follows at 25%. Together they make up the majority of the exam, so they deserve the largest share of your study time.
ISACA's current page lists US$575 for members and US$760 for non-members. Fees can change, so confirm the amount on the official credential page at the time you register. Our cost breakdown covers related expenses.
These details must be verified in the current ISACA candidate guide, linked from the credential page. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so treat any specific figure you see elsewhere with caution.